▷ Winners of Japan Prize 2022 announced

27.01.2022 – 03:01

Japan Prize Foundation

Tokio (ots/PRNewswire)

The Japan Prize Foundation announced the winners of the 2022 Japan Prize on January 25. Prof. Katalin Kariko (Hungary/USA) and Prof. Drew Weissman (USA) are co-awardees of the Japan Prize in the field of “Materials and Production”, and Prof. Christopher Field (USA) was awarded the Japan Prize in the field of ” Biological production, ecology/environment”.

– In the field of materials and production

Prof. Katalin Kariko


Prof. Drew Weissman


– In the field of biological production, ecology/environment

Prof. Christopher Field


This year’s award recognizes Kariko and Weissman for their groundbreaking research that contributed to the development of mRNA vaccines, and Field for his outstanding contributions to estimating global biospheric productivity and studying climate change using advanced observational formulas excellent.

This year, the foundation asked around 15,500 prominent scientists and engineers from around the world to nominate researchers working in this year’s fields. She received 208 nominations in the Materials and Production category and 138 nominations in the Organic Production, Ecology/Environment category. This year’s winners were selected from a total of 346 candidates.

Information on the Japan Prize

The reason for establishing the Japan Prize was the Japanese government’s desire to create an internationally recognized award that would contribute to scientific and technological development around the world. With the support of numerous donations, the Japan Prize Foundation received Cabinet Department approval in 1983.

The Japan Prize is awarded to scientists and engineers from around the world who, through their creative and incisive achievements, have contributed to the advancement of their fields and to the realization of peace and prosperity for all mankind. Researchers from all fields of science and technology are eligible for the award, with two fields selected each year taking into account current trends in scientific and technological development. Basically, in each area, one person is awarded the prize, who receives a certificate, a medal and a cash prize. Each award ceremony is attended by the incumbent imperial couple, the heads of the three branches of government and other officials, as well as representatives from various other sectors of society.

Press contact:

Kiyoshi OGURA,
Public relation,
Foundation Japan Prize,
Tel: +81-80-2003-1931,
Email: [email protected]

Original content by: Japan Prize Foundation, transmitted by news aktuell


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.