▷ Janice Stein heads the international jury for the 32nd annual Lionel Gelber Prize

12.01.2022 – 07:03

The Lionel Gelber Prize

TORONTO AND WASHINGTON, March 23 / PRNewswire /)

– The Book Prize is awarded annually for the best English-language non-fiction book on international affairs

Janice Stein will chair an international jury of experts for the Lionel Gelber Prize 2022, which is awarded annually for the best non-fiction book in English on the subject of foreign policy.

This year’s jury consists of the chairperson Janice Stein (Toronto, Kanada), Janine di Giovanni (New York), Francis J. Gavin (Washington, D.C.), James Goldgeier (Washington, DC) and Doug Saunders (Toronto, Kanada).

“The Lionel Gelber Prize was created to deepen the public debate on important international issues,” said Judith Gelber, Chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize. “For more than thirty years, the prize has recognized some of the world’s most important non-fiction books on foreign policy issues ranging from security and inequality to the rise of authoritarianism and the future of democracy. We look forward to welcoming this year’s esteemed jurors. “

Important data: The jury will be on February 8, 2022 announce the five shortlisted books and then publish podcast interviews with the finalists. The winner will be on 12. April 2022 announced and is attending an online event hosted by Foreign Policy and the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy.

About the price: The Lionel Gelber Prize, a literary prize for the world’s best non-fiction book in English on the subject of foreign policy, was established in 1989 by the Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The winner will receive a cash prize of $ 15,000. The award is presented annually by the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy awarded in partnership with the Foreign Policy Magazine.


Information on the jury of the Lionel Gelber Prize 2022:

Janice Gross Stein, Chair of the jury (Toronto, Canada) is Founding Director of the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy at the University of Toronto and Belzberg Professor of Conflict Management in the Department of Political Science and the Munk School. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and an honorary foreign member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Professor Stein was a 2001 Massey Lecturer and Trudeau Fellow. She was awarded the Canada Council Molson Prize for Outstanding Contribution by a Social Scientist to Public Debate. She has received four honorary doctorates and is a member of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario. She frequently writes for CBC, BBC and TVO.

Janine di Giovanni (New York, NY), Senior Fellow at the Yale Jackson Institute for Global Affairs, has reported on some of the world’s most violent conflicts and wars for more than three decades, investigating and documenting human rights abuses in the Middle East, Africa and the Balkans. She currently heads Enabling Witnesses, a UN Democracy Fund-funded project that supports transitional justice in Yemen, Iraq and Syria. In 2019 she was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for her lifelong research in the Middle East, and in 2020 she was awarded the American Academy of Arts and Letters top non-fiction award, the Blake Dodd, for her 30-year work. She is a multi-award-winning writer and writer who currently works as a columnist for Foreign Policy magazine and the English language daily The National in Abu Dhabi, and is a regular contributor to the Washington Post, the New York Times and many other publications. Your ninth book, The Vanishing: Faith, Loss and the Twilight of Christianity in the Middle East was published by Public Affairs in October 2021.

Francis J. Gavin (Washington, DC) is the Giovanni Agnelli Distinguished Professor and Founding Director of the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs at the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University. In 2013, Gavin was appointed the first Frank Stanton Chair in Nuclear Safety Policy Studies and Professor of Political Science at MIT. Prior to joining MIT, he was Tom Slick Professor of International Affairs and Director of the Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law at the University of Texas. Gavin is chairman of the editorial board of the Texas National Security Review. Belong to his writings Gold, Dollars, and Power: The Politics of International Monetary Relations, 1958-1971 and Nuclear Statecraft: History and Strategy in Americaʼs Atomic Age. His latest book, Nuclear Weapons and American Grand Strategy, was published by Brookings Institution Press in 2020.

James Golden vulture (Washington, DC) is visiting scholar at Stanford University’s Center for International Security and Cooperation, visiting scholar at Brookings Institution, and professor of international relations at American University. He is a senior advisor to the Bridging the Gap initiative, funded by Carnegie Corporation of New York and the Raymond Frankel Foundation. He is chairman of the State Department’s Historical Advisory Committee. He is the author or co-author of four books and has received the Edgar Furniss Book Award and the Lepgold Book Prize from Georgetown University.

Doug Saunders (Toronto, Canada) is the international affairs columnist for The Globe and Mail. He has been with the newspaper since 1995 and has extensive experience as a foreign correspondent, having led the Globe’s international offices in Los Angeles and London. From 2003 to 2012 he was the head of the newspaper’s London European office and was responsible for reporting on more than 40 countries. He has reported extensively on the Middle East, North Africa, the Indian subcontinent and East Asia and was the newspaper’s online opinion editor from 2013 to 2015 and creator of the online section “Globe Debate”. Saunders has won the National Newspaper Award, the Canadian equivalent, five times Pulitzer Prize, including three consecutive critical writing awards in 1998-2000 and Best Columnist in Canada in 2006 and 2013. He has been awarded the Stanley McDowell Prize for Writing, the Schelling Prize in Architectural Theory, the National Library of China Wenjin Book Award and the Donner Prize.

To arrange an interview, please contact: Lani Krantz, Communications & Media Relations Specialist at +1 (647) 407-4384 (text preferred) or [email protected]

Photo – https://mma.prnewswire.com/media/1723400/The_Lionel_Gelber_Prize_Janice_Stein_Chairs_International_Jury_f.jpg

Original content by: The Lionel Gelber Prize, transmitted by news aktuell


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.