North Rhine-Westphalia: Wüst elected Prime Minister

Status: October 27, 2021 2:29 p.m.

Hendrik Wüst is the new Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia. The previous state transport minister was elected to succeed Armin Laschet in the first ballot. He received 103 votes – three more than necessary.

The state parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia has elected the previous Minister of Transport, Hendrik Wüst, as the new Prime Minister. In the first ballot, 103 MPs voted for the CDU politician, as announced by State Parliament President Andre Kuper. The government factions of the CDU and FDP have 100 of the 199 seats in the state parliament. 90 MPs therefore voted against him, three abstained and one vote was invalid.

The CDU had already elected Wüst as the new party leader in North Rhine-Westphalia at a state party conference on Saturday. Wüst does not have much time to make a name for himself in the new office. State elections will take place in NRW in May 2022.

Laschet urges the Democrats to act together

The 46-year-old Wüst succeeds Armin Laschet when he moved to Berlin as a member of the Bundestag. In his farewell speech to the state parliament, Laschet had warned that the Democrats were united. Even in the opposition, one should “not succumb to the temptation to stir up hatred and resentment,” said the 60-year-old. The same goes for the government.

Probably no government had as much power as during the corona pandemic, said Laschet. Nobody should “fall into omnipotence fantasies”, he warned. Any encroachments on fundamental rights should be withdrawn as quickly as possible. “That is also important: measure and center”. What might be seen as procrastination outside of North Rhine-Westphalia is a tradition here: dealing with power responsibly. “We came through this pandemic in accordance with the constitution,” emphasized the CDU chairman and candidate for chancellor of the Union in the federal election.

At the end of his speech Laschet said: “It was a pleasure for me. It was an honor for me. Glückauf for our state of North Rhine-Westphalia.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *